Connect with us

Shop! Press Releases

Shop! Association Recognizes Top Innovative Retail Design and Display Through 2020 Shop Awards Program





Shop! Environments Association, the global trade organization dedicated to enhancing retail environments and experiences, last week produced its first-ever virtual Shop! Awards ceremony to reveal the winners of its prestigious annual awards. While the awards have a long history of notable winners, 2020 was the first year the event was not able to be held in person due to the global pandemic. The event was cohosted by Melissa Gonzalez, CEO of the Lionesque Group, and Tom Sullivan, veteran host and emcee, and was live-streamed through

The Shop! Awards program is considered the preeminent honor of the retail design and brand marketing industry. It recognizes the best new designs in retail environments and experiences through three award programs: the Outstanding Merchandising Awards (OMA), Design Awards, and Global Awards. The OMAs acknowledge the excellent displays that set the merchandising and design precedents of today, while the Design Awards celebrate achievements in areas such as new store design, renovations, fixtures, visual presentation projects, and in-store communications. The Global Awards recognize excellence in point-of-purchase advertising display, marketing-at-retail and retail design.

“The 2020 Shop! Awards are a quintessential example of how the retail industry continues to evolve and innovate to bring creativity and excitement for shoppers,” said Shop! Executive Director Todd Dittman. “We were pleased to be able to find an interactive avenue to continue to celebrate and honor each and every one of the next-generation entries of the Shop! Awards through our virtual ceremony.”

During the show, the following Shop! Award winners were announced:

  • OMA Budget Award – Temporary Division (Under $25): Menasha and Williams Lea Tag for Reign Two-Sided Hutch
  • OMA Budget Award – Semi-Permanent Division (Under $50): Menasha for Olay Retinol 24 Cosmetic Endstand
  • OMA Budget Award – Permanent Division (Under $100): Inesco Display for Astro C40 Controller Display
  • Fixture of the Year Award: Unique Store Fixtures for KitKat Chocolatory
  • OMA Creative Award – Temporary Division: InnoMark Communications for Kroger Apple Stack Wow Display
  • OMA Creative Award – Semi-Permanent Division: Bish Creative for Riondo Italian Summer Vespa Scooter Display
  • OMA Creative Award – Permanent Division: WestRock Company for Joy Walmart Display
  • Design Visual Presentation of the Year Award: Bergmeyer for Boston ProShop powered by ‘47
  • OMA Display of the Year Award – Temporary Division: Packaging Corporation of America for 2019 Camp Backyard Summer Mega
  • OMA Display of the Year Award – Semi-Permanent Division: Darko for Arlo Smart Home Security
  • OMA Display of the Year Award – Permanent Division: Process Retail Group for Garmin Global Cycling Display
  • Store of the Year Award: Dalziel & Pow for Timberland in London, England

Other award-winning products and companies honored by Shop! included bronze, silver, and gold OMA winners, silver and gold Design Award winners, Global Award winners, and Design Award element winners that were recognized during the show and announced earlier in the week.

The event was also sprinkled with musical talent from a variety of recording artists including, Netherlands-based actor/artist Janieck; 2019 winner of NBC’s The Voice Jake Hoot; bluegrass band Theo and Brenna; and Nashville based country singer/songwriter Josh Mirenda.


Westrock, Great Northern, Duraco, Bish Creative, the Lionesque Group, Menasha, GH+A, BXP, Little and
VMSD generously sponsored the event to help bring the virtual awards to life. The awards ceremony can
now be viewed on and companies can begin submitting entries for the 2021 Shop!
Awards beginning in November.


Most Popular